Legislative Recap

Join your Advocacy Peers !

Friday, June 2, 2023
10:00 AM - 11:00 AM (EDT)
Category: Advocacy Allies

Join us on Friday, June 2 at 10am for a virtual Legislative Recap with your Advocacy Allies Leadership Team as we reflect on how the landscape shifted over the session and our major takeaway themes nonprofits need to keep in mind as we turn the corner to 2024. We'll also have plenty of time for attendees to share what their organizations were watching this year and any takeaways they gleaned.

Co-hosted by Josh Malkin ACLU

Themes for Session

  1. Advocacy is a Marathon, But…(there are sprints)

  2. Process Matters, But… (it’s also a weapon)

  3. Leadership Matters, But… (chaos can alter it all)

Discuss Major Legislation that Moved/Passed:

  • Women's Health Care

  • Hate Crimes

  • Paid Leave for Teachers

  • School Vouchers/Choice

  • Workforce Housing

  • Bond Reform

Attendees (63)

Jabari Bodrick

Senior Director of Education and Resiliency

United Way of the Midlands

Stephanie Boyett

Practice Administrator

HopeHealth Inc

Josh Bullock

Insurance Agent/Resource Specialist

Palmetto Project

C.T. Burton

Director of Executive Operations

Coastal Community Foundation of SC

Lili Coleman

executive director

Meals On Wheels, Bluffton-Hilton Head

Amie Cooper

Executive Director

Flourishing Families of South Carolina

Jamie Cooper


Communities In Schools of South Carolina

Mike Darrow

Executive Director

Feeding the Carolinas

Jed Dews

Executive Director

HALOS - Helping And Lending Outreach and Support

Margaret Domka

Executive Director

United States Center for Mental Health and Sport

Eleanor Dunlap

Executive Organizational and Talent Consultant

Find Great People International

Sally Ehrenfried

Principal, Government Relations


Rachael Fulmer

SC Business Developer

Lutheran Services Carolinas

Melissa Furr

Social Responsibility Manager


Tricia Gordon

Executive Director

Barnwell County First Steps

David Green

Director of IT and Fundraising

Osprey Village Inc.

Dylan Gunnels

Executive Director

Haven Home Foundation (Haven Home)

Katie Hagan

Coalitions Mangaer

Conservation Voters of SC Education Fund

Courtney Hampson


Bluffton Self Help

Kathryn Harvey


Neue South Collective

Scottie Hill

Executive Director

Trent Hill Center for Children and Families

Rachel Hui-Hubbard

Executive Director

The Early Learning Partnership of York County

Amanda Jones

Development Credentials

HALOS - Helping And Lending Outreach and Support

Jaye Jones Elliott

President and CEO

Dorchester Habitat for Humanity, Inc.

Alston Keith

Americorps VISTA

Charleston Hope

Christene Laird

Executive Director

Automotive Service Assistance

Andrea Lance

Public Affairs Chair

Junior League of Columbia

Grace Lewis, CFRE

Executive Director

HOPE in Lancaster, Inc.

Lowndes Macdonald

Chief Development Officer

New Morning

Michelle Mapp


American Civil Liberties Union of SC Foundation

Kati McArdle

Grants Manager

Coastal Conservation League

Sally McClellan

Executive Director

SC Association for the Education of Young Children

Madeleine McGee


Together SC

Terrie McGIll - 1

Board President

Infinite Possibilities Inc

Viktoria McKenna

Development Director

Ezekiel Ministries

Alyssa McKenzie

Development Officer

Chapman Cultural Center

Josie Newton

Watershed Scientist

Friends of the Reedy River

Fiely Novilla

Director of Finance

Meg's House

Emilee O'Brien

Director of Advocacy

United Way of the Piedmont

Cheryl O'Donnell

Executive Director

Florence Crittenton Programs of SC

Jason Orning

Mobility Manager

Neighbor to Neighbor of South Carolina

Nick Osborne

President & CEO

Lowcountry Food Bank

Chynna A. Phillips

Senior Director of Policy and Research

Sisters of Charity Foundation of SC

Daniel Prohaska

President & CEO

Lions Vision Services

Charlotte Rankin

Chief Executive Officer

SC Thrive

Brooke Robertson

Director of Strategic Communication & Member Experience

Together SC

Susan Sachs

Executive Director

Project Hope Foundation

Allison Safford

Strategic Initiatives Officer

Hollingsworth Funds

Angela Simmons

Board Member

Bluffton Self Help

Gretchen Smith

Executive Director

Smith Medical Clinic

Amy Splittgerber

Executive Director

Healthy Learners

Meg Stanley

Executive Director


Isabel Steen

Director of Community Investments

United Way of the Midlands

Paige Stephenson

President & CEO

United Way of the Piedmont

Amber Stewart

Program Associate

SC Association for Community Economic Development

Hillary Taylor

Executive Director

South Carolinians for Alternatives to the Death Penalty

Alex Tovar

Hispanic Affairs Program Coordinator

SC Commission for Minority Affairs

Natalia Valenzuela Swanson

Program Director, Healthy Eating & Active Learning

Mary Black Foundation

Donna Waites

President & CEO

Sisters of Charity Foundation of SC

Andrea White

Executive Director

Food Bank of Greenwood County

Ashley Whitt

Vice President of Grants and Community Impact

Spartanburg County Foundation

Jace Woodrum

Executive Director

American Civil Liberties Union of SC Foundation

Naomi Zeiset

Grants Manager

Trident United Way

Sponsored by 

For More Information:

GP McLeer

GP McLeer

Partner, Pecan Public Relations