Fred R. Sheheen Award

In 2017, the Award for Nonprofit Leadership was renamed to honor Fred Sheheen, founder of the Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University, and a pssionate advocate for the nonprofit community and excellence in leadership.

This leadership award recognizes a graduate of Fred R. Sheheen Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University or a Together SC member who has excelled in the management of their organization through organizational and resource development.

This award is sponsored by the Fred R. Sheheen Non-Profit Leadership Institute at Francis Marion University and Together SC.

Recipient Receives:
  • $500 cash award by Francis Marion University
  • A distinguished award to proudly display in their office
  • Registration to the FMU NPLI Alumni Gathering in Spring of 2025
  • Registration to the 2025 Nonprofit Summit hosted by Together SC
  • Local and statewide recognition through FMU and Together SC communications.
  • Recognition onTogether SC and FMU's websites.
Application Process:
  • Nominations can be submitted in 2025
  • The 2025 Recipient will be announced during the Together SC Annual Membership Meeting. 
  • For questions contact: Chuck MacNeil at Francis Marion University at 843-250-5088 or

Past Recipients:


Sarah Pope, Chief Executive Officer of SOS Health Care, Inc., and Oak Tree Farm in Murrells Inlet, SC
Read More


Nicole Echols, Harvest Hope Food Bank, Florence


Chris Manley Rebuild Upstate, Greenville


Carl Humphries Hope Health, Inc., Florence


Tricia Richardson, SC Thrive, Columbia


Christina Jackson Sea Haven, Little River


Sharon Clemmons Thomas, Helping Hands of Georgetown, Georgetown


Ginny Waller, Sexual Trauma Services of the Midlands, Columbia


Cecilia Meggs, Lighthouse Ministries, Florence


Denise Holland, Harvest Hope Food Bank, Columbia 


Fay Brown, Foothills Alliance, Anderson


Kristi King Brock, Anderson Interfaith Ministries, Anderson


Jennie W. Peze, Pee Dee Land Trust, Florence 


Deborah Francis, LRADAC, Columbia