Award for Public Service

=From time to time, the Together SC Board of Directors chooses to recognize outstanding individuals working with nonprofits, as elected officials or in government whose work on public policy initiatives and practices has significantly improved South Carolina communities.

This is not an award given every year, but only as the Board sees fit. This award has had a number of different names over the years, given the first time as the "Award for Excellence in Public Service," and later as the "Together. For Good. Award for Nonprofit Advocacy."

The purpose has always been the same: to honor someone for exemplary service to the cause of all nonprofits.

This award serves to document and celebrate the variety of forms and methods used by nonprofit organizations to influence and develop public policies. It serves to inform us and others of the significant value and benefit that nonprofit organizations bring to South Carolina when they are active players in local, state and federal public policy development.


2017 - Fred R. Sheheen - Together. For Good. Public Service Lifetime Achievement Award (Posthumous)

2016 - Betty Plumb - Together. For Good. Advocacy Award

2014 - Sen. Ray Cleary - Together. For Good. Advocacy Award

2007 - Sen. Verne Smith - Public Service Lifetime Achievement Award (Posthumous)

Sen. Linda Short
Dr. John Ruoff

Rep. Joel Lourie
Rep. James Smith
Sen. Darrell Jackson